About Us

The fourteen sitting Heads of College make up the Council of Heads of College (CHC).  The Chair of the Council is appointed by the President for a term of three years with the possibility of one re-appointment.  

The Council meets approximately eight times during the academic year to consider matters relevant to all colleges.

There are four standing committees, in addition to a Steering Committee, each chaired by a Head of College, which meet on an ad hoc basis:  (1) Services, (2) Education and Student Life, (3) Arts and Awards, and (4) Finance.

The Steering Committee consists of the Chair of CHC plus the chairs of the four other standing committees. The standing committees consist of a combination of Heads of College, Deans of College and administrators from the Yale College Dean’s Office.